Richmond Primary School

Together we will Learn, Enjoy, Achieve, Respect, Nurture

Welcome to

Richmond Primary School

  1. Curriculum
  2. Protected Characteristics


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain, protecting people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation under the nine Protected Characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex (Gender)
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


We are a 'No Outsiders' school and have weekly whole school assemblies, alongside the year group learning, to explore the themes around the Protected Characteristics. In doing this, we help our pupils to develop self-esteem, self-knowledge and self-confidence. Pupils are taught that they have the right to choose, be respected and to be protected by law. We teach them to respect their own and other cultures, to celebrate our differences and to understand the importance of identifying and combating discrimination.

Please see below for our Protected Characteristics Curriculum Map.