Towers Drive, Hinckley, Leicestershire, LE10 OZD


Richmond Primary School

Together we will Learn, Enjoy, Achieve, Respect, Nurture

Rice Bowl Cup



As a school we have a proud tradition of taking part in the Rice Bowl Cup. In the last 5 years we have won the tournament and finished runner up.

The Rice Bowl, or to give its full title “The Mon­tague John Rice Tro­phy” was donated to Leices­ter­shire Schools F.A. in March 1934.  The pre­sen­ta­tion to the Asso­ci­a­tion was made by the Rich fam­ily, own­ers of a local boot and shoe fac­tory in Sys­ton.  Mr M.J. Rice was a Direc­tor of Leices­ter Fosse and Leices­ter City FC.  The tro­phy has been the pride of Leices­ter­shire Schools F.A. ever since the first final in the 1934–35 season.

The first recorded final was in the spring of 1935 when the tro­phy was won by Claren­don Park School — now bet­ter known as St. John’s Pri­mary School.  In the first ten years the tro­phy only left the city once (despite the com­pe­ti­tion being open to pri­mary schools in the city and the county), when in 1938 it was won by Keg­worth Coun­cil School.  Newry Junior School achieved the first-ever hat trick of vic­to­ries in 1951/52/53 — Leices­ter City leg­end Gra­ham Cross was in the lat­ter team.  The lime­light then switched to the county with New­bold Ver­don Pri­mary School win­ning the tro­phy five years out of six in 1956/57/58/60/61 — they were beaten final­ists in 1959!  City schools dom­i­nated the six­ties and sev­en­ties with wins by Overdales, White­hall, Braun­stone Frith, New Parks House and Scraptoft Val­ley Schools.  The fifti­eth anniver­sary of the Rice Bowl saw the final hosted by Leices­ter City FC, with Brau­ns­tone Frith beat­ing Raven­hurst by two goals to one.